Home » career services » Peace Corps Info Session, 12/10, 6pm, UMC 245

Peace Corps Info Session, 12/10, 6pm, UMC 245

 

Last Peace Corp Info Session of the semester on Dec 10th – Free Pizza!

6pm in UMC 245

Get a jump start on your application!

Returned Peace Corps Volunteer Joel will be there to talk about his experience serving in Paraguay! Here is a note from Joel:

From 2006-2008 I served as an Agriculture Extension volunteer with the Peace Corps in Paraguay. During my time as a volunteer I lived in a small farming community called Barrero Azul in the southeast part of the country. My service was focused on working with and training small-scale family farmers techniques of soil conservation, organic agriculture, family gardening, bee keeping, and community organizing. I worked closely with the community farmers committee and together we designed and implemented a half-acre community organic garden as a means of addressing community food security and income generation. Another big part of my service was to work with community members to identify other issues that they wanted to address. As a result, I also put together a number of health-related workshops, taught English to local youth, worked with a women’s committee, and led a weekly radio show. Over the two years I spent a lot of time building close relationships with members of my community and had a great time while in Paraguay. The experience was truly life changing. I keep in close connection with the people I met there and have been back many times to visit and also to conduct research as a grad student. I look forward to sharing my experience in the Peace Corps with you on December 10th and hope to help answer any questions you might have.

 

 

Also, we know you’re hungry so… FREE PIZZA!

See you next Monday, Dec 10th at 6pm in UMC 245 and check out the event page:

http://www.facebook.com/events/296543140465144/!

 

CU-Boulder Peace Corps Team, Amy, Cedar and Prasanta UMC 341,  303-492-8454 peacecorps@colorado.edu

 

Cori Shaff

Career Counselor & Academic Outreach Coordinator Career Services, University of Colorado at Boulder http://careerservices.colorado.edu/students/students.aspx

____________________________________________

 

peace.corp

